Arusha Project


Farwell post from Brandon
August 4, 2008, 6:57 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It has been exactly 5 weeks since I first arrived in Arusha and I can honestly say that it has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. I have grown to love the people, the culture and the lifestyle of Tanzania. The people are always friendly here, greeting you as you pass on the streets. Children are always swarming around you wanting to hold you hand and hang on to you with smiles on their faces. I would also like to say that Valerie is one of the most wonderful people/friends that I have ever meet and the work she has put into the program in the past several years and will continue to do so in simply amazing. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of the program these past few weeks!

Aside from the many fun and exciting excursions that were planned for us including a day safari (on my Birthday!), bautiful waterfall hikes, club nights, craft fairs and other “suprises”, I have found great satisfation volunteering at different orphanages teaching english and math skills to preschool children, assisting doctors in hospitals, preforming manula labor for a women’s groups “veggie” project, and teaching about HIV/AIDS, nutritoion and human anatomy at various high schools, church groups and other organizations.

Out of all the volunteering experiences I had during my breif stay here, teaching about HIV/AIDS has been

Steve, Brandon, Stephanie, Nema and Ben out in Meserani after giving a presentation on HIV/AIDS

Steve, Brandon, Stephanie, Nema and Ben out in Meserani after giving a presentation on HIV/AIDS

the most fulfilling. Realizing the lack of education in this feild for many people here, I had great pride in during these short presentations on even the most basic information. Using posters to talk about statistics, biology, transmission, prevention, stages and stigma of HIV/AIDS. We were amazed at the questions we received from adults and youth and we can only imagine the kind of impact this had on the community. Everyone also got a kick out of the condom demonstrations.

Although it is impossible to write about all the amazing adventures that I have been through in the past 5 weeks, I would like to say that I will never forget coming here, and I hope to be able to come back and volunteer again in the future.

– Brandon

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

